Pakistan Sri Lanka Abu Dhabi Series 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Abu Dhabi Series 2007

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka First ODI

PAK v SL : Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 5 wickets

All-rounder Shahid Afridi hit 73 off just 34 balls as Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by five wickets in Friday's first one-day international in Abu Dhabi.
Afridi, who was dropped twice, struck 32 off one over as his side reached their target with eight overs to spare. He was ably supported by wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal, who made an unbeaten 51, as the pair gave Shoaib Malik the ideal start in his first match as captain.
Earlier, Sri Lanka made 235-9, thanks largely to a half-century from Farvez Maharoof. Umar Gul had done the most damage with the ball for Pakistan, taking three wickets for 61. He removed Chamara Kapugedera for 28, Mahela Jayawardene for 18 and Malinga Bandara for three. Maharoof's knock included nine fours and one six to continue a fightback started by Chamara Silva, who hit 47.
The Sri Lankan top order all failed to post a score above 30, with Sanath Jayasuriya going for just one, Upul Tharanga for 17 and Mahela Jayawardene for 18.
The Pakistan innings started promisingly with Imran Nazir hitting a quickfire 38 before being run out by Jayasuriya. Yasir Hameed quickly followed him back to the pavilion, lbw to Malinga for 10. Salman Butt scored a pedestrian 34 before he was run out by Kapugedera, followed by Mohammad Yousuf (12) and Malik (11), but Afridi smacked four sixes and eight fours to steer Pakistan to victory.
ODI Series, Abu Dhabi: Pakistan 239-5 (42 overs) beat Sri Lanka 235-9 (50 overs) by 5 wkts

PAK v SL : Sri Lankans confident of doing well

Sri Lankan cricketers led by Mahela Jayawardene walked into the Sheikh Stadium in Abu Dhabi for their final practice session before the first game against Pakistan in a very happy mood. All were in fine fettle to take up the challenge from the Pakistanis today, Friday.
Pakistanis are coming up for this one-day series with the sole intention of catching up their lost prestige. They were thrown out of the World Cup in the early stages and are making every effort to reach the top as early as possible. Many of the players who participated at the World Cup are missing including their captain Inzamam-Ul-Haq. Here they will be led by Sohib Malik and two new faces taking their positions to face on international team: Mahela Jayawardene who led the Lankan team to the final of the World Cup 2007 too is facing the Pakistans minus many experienced team members.
He will have to use all his experience in handling his bowlers well on a pitch that they have never experienced. Pitch conditions and the climate in Abu Dhabi is something that both parties have to concentrate on. The winners of this three match one day series is to receive the Al Wagid Trophy and a cash award of US Dollars 10,000. The location of the Sheikh Zayad Stadium is far away from the City Centre with few access facilities and the roadway to the stadium is half done.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Abu Dhabi Series 2007


Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat
235 for 9 (50.0 overs)
239 for 5 (42.0 overs)

Sri Lanka Innings
W U Tharanga run out
33 1 0
S T Jayasuriya lbw b Mohammad Asif
7 0 0
C K Kapugedera
b Umar Gul
40 4 0
D P M D Jayawardene c Kamran Akmal b Umar Gul
27 3 0
L P C Silva run out
66 6 0
T M Dilshan c Umar Gul b Abdul Razzaq
22 1 1
H A P W Jayawardene run out
30 3 0
M F Maharoof not out
54 9 1
C M Bandara
b Umar Gul
16 0 0
S L Malinga
b Mohammad Sami
7 0 0
M K D I Amerasinghe not out
2 0 0
4nb 3w 1b 2lb 10
for 9 235 (50.0 ovs)

Mohammad Asif 10.0 1 26 1
Mohammad Sami 10.0 0 49 1
Umar Gul 10.0 0 61 3
Abdul Razzaq 10.0 0 53 1
Shahid Afridi 10.0 0 43 0
Fall of wicket
4 S T Jayasuriya
34 W U Tharanga
61 C K Kapugedera
72 D P M D Jayawardene
103 T M Dilshan
141 H A P W Jayawardene
177 L P C Silva
203 C M Bandara
215 S L Malinga

Pakistan Innings
Salman Butt run out
67 3 0
Imran Nazir run out
24 6 1
Yasir Hameed lbw b C M Bandara
29 1 0
Mohammad Yousuf
b M F Maharoof
26 1 0
Shoaib Malik run out
26 0 0
Kamran Akmal not out
51 8 0
Shahid Afridi not out
34 8 4
5nb 4w 1lb 10
for 5 239 (42.0 ovs)

M F Maharoof 8.0 1 47 1
S L Malinga 9.0 1 53 0
M K D I Amerasinghe 7.0 2 31 0
T M Dilshan 3.0 0 9 0
C M Bandara 10.0 1 69 1
S T Jayasuriya 5.0 0 29 0
Fall of wicket
53 Imran Nazir
84 Yasir Hameed
88 Salman Butt
105 Mohammad Yousuf
137 Shoaib Malik

Umpires: M R Benson, S L Shastri
Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul
Sri Lanka: W U Tharanga, S T Jayasuriya, C K Kapugedera, D P M D Jayawardene, L P C Silva, T M Dilshan, H A P W Jayawardene, C M Bandara, M F Maharoof, S L Malinga, M K D I Amerasinghe

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.